• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff Hahne

Jeff Hahne

• Registered
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 05:57 AM

Wanted to introduce myself before I start posting.  My name is Jeff and I'm primarily a metal artist but I broke my pelvis about a year ago so I've found myself needing the help of a cane to get around.

I've built a few sticks and canes over the years but only a few.  Now that I actually need one to get around, I find myself drawn to stick making.

I don't have any photos of sticks I've made but I'll try to get some soon.  In the meantime, here's a photo of a recent piece of metal art that I did.

Somehow, I'm going to figure out how to combine my love for metal art with stick making.

I look forward to learning from you all.

Attached Thumbnails

• 15138414_10209106881003878_8817390560839695934_o.jpg

#2 CV3

CV3

Advanced Member

• Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • LocationMobile Alabama (USA)

Posted 21 March 2017 - 01:22 PM

Hello Jeff and welcome to the forum. I look forward to seeing your work. There are many examples of metal  enhanced canes. Many using silver. I spent some time in the Joseph and Bend Oregon back in the early 80's. Beautiful State!   

• Jeff Hahne likes this

#3 Rodney

Rodney

Advanced Member

• Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • LocationCentralia, Washington

Posted 21 March 2017 - 01:29 PM

Welcome!

Nice looking work.

Take a look around on the internet and Pinterest at canes and walking sticks.  I think you'll find plenty of ideas there, at least things that will inspire you to create your own designs.

Rodney

• Jeff Hahne likes this

#4 dww2

dww2

Advanced Member

• Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • LocationMaine, USA

Posted 21 March 2017 - 06:54 PM

Hey Jeff, welcome. Really cool fish you made. Love the brindled mastiff in your profile picture; looks like a sweet pup.

• Jeff Hahne likes this

#5 MJC4

MJC4

Advanced Member

• Registered
  • PipPipPip